Thursday, August 23, 2012

Update on life

So originally I was going to do blog posts that went along with the Pretty Little Liars series that I'm doing on my youtube channel, but the pictures haven't been turning out the way that I wanted them to.  Oh well...
So yeah to just update on life a little bit, I've been working non-stop and the store and I feel like it's consuming my life but it totally pays off (literally) when it comes to my income.  Regardless of the fact I've been trying to update on here and on my channel as much as I can.  I was going to film something earlier today but it had to be put off when my husband was up in the attic trying to fix a problem with our air duct, and the ladder to get up in the attic, completely fell (more like ripped) out of the ceiling!  We've been having major problems with the guy who built our house, it's still in his contract to finish the work that he still hasn't, and it's been a good 90 days since we've moved in.  I hate to rant about it but it's really to that point.
All that's wrong/left to be finished in our house:
-Removal of construction supplies from shed/house (their shit is still everywhere!)
-We have a ceiling fan that is hanging from the ceiling basically which has yet to be attached
-We were supposed to have crown molding in both my office that I use for filming and also our Master bedroom, that hasn't happened
-Every time we use our main master shower, we have a giant puddle of water that forms in the hallway in front of our door
-I have no closet in the Master Bedroom! All of my nice clothing is folded in a pile.  I feel like I have to buy new clothing because I get sick of wearing the same thing over and over again, I hate to say it but as a girl who has to wear nice stuff to work, this makes me the angriest lol.
-There are paint spots that they didn't fill in all over our ceilings
-and last but not least, now I have a gaping hole in my ceiling that we taped 2 trash bags over to keep the heat up there because the dumbasses that built our house decided that the trim and finishing nails was enough to hold a ladder in.

So again, I hate to rant but all of the communication with this guy in the past 2 months has been done straight through his attorney.  We've been threatening to get a lawyer but now it's serious.  When Bill (who had knee surgery 2 months ago might I add) could have fallen from the ceiling and impailed himself on the springs or whatever of this ladder on the floor, then it's a safety hazard and our goal is to make this MF pay (LITERALLY) I took pictures of not only the ladder on the floor, but all of the other stuff that's wrong with the house and we're taking this guy to court over it.  Bill even said that when he spoke to the builder's lawyer over the phone, the lawyer even had a "yeahh we're fucked..." tone in his voice because he knows he has nothing to stand on.  The builder became really shady after we closed.  It's still in his contract which both Bill and myself signed, that he's required to finish these things, and the reason we've been speaking to his attorney is because Dave (the builder) won't return calls, texts, emails, anything.  So we figure if we speak to his attorney, he'll relay the message.  The quote that really sends a shiver up my spine is when Bill was on the phone with the attorney and said "ok well here's one more message for Dave, 'see you in court!'"

So provided that everything goes the way we're hoping, our house will be paid off by the end of the year.  There's no way in hell a judge would think twice on this.  Dave's got nothing, his attorney has nothing, and I almost had to drive my husband to the ER due to falty craftsmanship.
So now that that's out of my system!
GOODNIGHT!

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Urban Decay Palettes: Skull Shadow & Vegan

So I got a couple palettes from the Urban Decay sale and I'm pretty excited about it.  I love that Urban Decay actually puts things that are for "sale" on their website for a discounted price, some companies don't do that.
The Vegan palette has shadows that are 100% vegan.  That isn't a big deal to me, but I know there are some that truly care about that.







Swatches: Minx, Urb, Gunmetal

Twice Baked, Smog, Half Baked


Skull Shadow Palette:








Swatches Left to Right, Top to Bottom: Cherry, Midnight Cowboy Rides Again, Grifter, Vert, Oil Slick, Shattered, Blunt, Chopper, Twice Baked



Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Major issues with Youtube

So if you couldn't tell from the title, or the fact that there hasn't been a video up in a while, I'm having some MAJOR issues signing in to my youtube account.  It worked fine 3 days ago and now I can't access it.
This is what happens:
I click sign in like any normal person would do, it directs you to the page which should bring up the sign in bars, and nothing, it just puts you right on the home page.
"hmm that's weird, oh let's try this..."
I click on "create account" and redirect to the sign in page from there (this actually does bring up the sign in bars) so I type in all my info...wait for it......NOTHING right back to the home page and NOT on my account.
"ooookkkk what's wrong here....maybe this'll work..." click on upload to try to sign in from there, and the url box gets really glitchy and doesn't load.

I've reported this to both youtube and google since they're linked and I've gotten no response or help back (not that I expect to, they're customer service is useless)  I'm really annoyed because this isn't the first time that this has happened.  Only the first time one of the options above actually worked and youtube didn't sign me out automatically like it did.  Bill works with Aircraft computers for goodness sake and he still couldn't figure out what was wrong.  I'm not sure if this is a glitch or a bug with youtube or with google chrome, or just my computer.  One way or another I might have a clusterf*** of videos go up all at once if I ever get this resolved.

Sunday, August 5, 2012

Urban Decay Naked Skin Liquid Makeup

So I had heart A LOT about this foundation through the twitter buzz and also on YouTube as well.  Urban Decay recently came out with their Naked Skin foundation, inspired by the success of the Naked palettes.  This foundation is a light weight, medium-coverage liquid foundation that you can build up for more coverage as needed.  Unlike a lot of liquid foundations I've tried, the Urban Decay Naked Skin is created without oils, parabins and fragrances.  This makeup was also created with green tea and vitamin E to help give the skin a youthful appearance.  My skin is slightly sensitive; I say slightly because some stuff bothers it, and some doesn't.  The only major breakout I've had out of the ordinary in my life was about a year ago when I had a HORRIBLE hormonal breakout (and a 20lb weight gain) from the Depovara shot.  Since then I've been buying skin products based on the advice from a friend who's licensed in skin care.
All in all, this foundation is amazing! I still use a setting powder and an undereye concealer with this, however the way that it is formulated, it is non-essential.  The idea behind this foundation is that your skin is "naked" and you are virtually wearing nothing.
The foundation retails for $38 and is sold at Sephora, Ulta, Macy's UD counters, and Sephora inside JCPenny.  While the price is a little steep for 1 FL oz, I noticed 2 pumps with a damp brush was enough for my whole face.
My only complaint about this product is the packaging.  While the tube/jar/bottle, whatever you want to call it, is aesthetically pleasing to look at, it would take up half a makeup back if you were to travel with it, unlike Makeup Forever Matte Velvet + (another one of my faves!) I've mentioned it before, Urban Decay is known for having "pretty" packaging, but as pretty as it is, pretty is not always functional and easy for travel.  To only have a complaint about the packaging, I'd say that's pretty impressive!  I'm not saying that you have to run out and buy this right away, but I'd totally check it out if you're looking for a light weight foundation as we approach the end of the months.